Android FRP bypass (FRP) is a security method that was designed to make sure someone can’t just wipe and factory reset your phone if you’ve lost it or it was stolen. Starting with Android Lollipop, FRP is “standard” in vanilla Android, and most companies making our phones have implemented it in their own models. It’s a good thing — it makes a stolen phone harder to use, which makes it less appealing to thieves, and anything that can protect our data on a phone we’ve lost is welcome.
Is that people are selling or trading or even giving away phones with Android FRP bypass enabled and this makes things difficult for the next user.
How it works explains why. If you reset a phone with FRP enabled, you have to provide the user name and password for the last Google account that was registered with the device. There is random work-around on the Internet, but they tend to get patched almost as soon as they are discovered. You’ll pretty much need to know the login details for the last account to use the phone before you can do anything with it if FRP was enabled before you reset it. We’ve been bitten by these ourselves. We ship phones all over North America and the U.K., and sometimes it’s easy to forget about Android FRP bypass when you wipe the data on a phone and stick it in a box. And yes, we end up having to share a password to get past the initial setup — you can’t reset a protected phone for 72 hours after a password change, so “temporary” passwords aren’t going to work. Never (and I mean never) reset a phone without turning FRP off during that 72 hour time period. There is nothing but heartache and pain at the bottom of that hole. The good news is that disabling FRP is easy. The bad news is that there is nothing to remind you to do it when you’re wiping your phone. I would love to see a reminder about FRP when resetting, much like the one we see now about losing our accounts and data. Until then, it’s up to you to remember to disable it when you’re getting a phone ready to send to someone else.